Eczema

Battling skin eczema? 12 things that may help.

skin excema

I have been suffering from eczema, just on my hands, for many years.  I use to go to the dermatologist, and they would give me all different types of creams, cortisones, etc. But, none of them ever seemed to work.  I wasn’t keen on this idea of always putting hydro- cortisones on my skin, as I was absorbing the chemicals systemically. It tried cutting foods out of my diet and meditation.

I started to try to find my own way of dealing with it. It wasn’t a good sign that I began taking a knife or a fork (any sharp object) to my skin and scratching it, but I did! As you know, if you suffer from eczema, that you will tear the skin where it itches and that watery lymph drains out and poof, the itch is gone. You are left with your skin peeled and raw, but the relief is wonderful.

I tried many alternative and organic things such as herbs, (ginger, milk thistle, etc.) oils (primrose, coconut, almond etc.), and oatmeal baths.

After approximately a decade (believe it or not) I got smart and thought hmm, an allergy test might be a good idea, Guess what? I went and had the test done and it came back negative for everything. I wasn’t allergic to anything.  Hmmm, what the heck was I to do next?

As the years went on, I somehow came across the idea of ice. Once I got an itch, I would put ice (if I was at a place I had it handy) on the skin and I was very happy it went away. This wasn’t resolving the issue, though. It does for short term relief, but how do I get rid of it completely?

Thanks to my mother, she said to me “why don’t you try taking an antihistamine?” So I did, and to this day, if I forget to take an antihistamine every day, I get eczema.  I make sure I take one every morning. But, do I want to take an antihistamine with all the medical research and the fact that it is a bad idea? No! I sure don’t, but it’s been many years and I have no eczema. I am still taking what western medicine makes, but I haven’t found an organic alternative that works.

If you do suffer from eczema you could try these oils, to see if they will work for you.

  1. Hemp Seed Oil (Cannabis sativa)
  2. Carrot Oil (Daucus carota)
  3. Perilla Seed Oil (Perilla frutescens)
  4. Apricot Kernel Oil (Prunus armeniaca)
  5. Borage Seed Oil (Borago officinalis)
  6. Evening Primrose Oil (Oenothera biennis) Chamomile Natural Skincare
  7. Almond Oil (Prunus amygdalus dulcis)
  8. Jojoba Oil (Simmondsia sinensis)
  9. Cumin Seed Oil (Cuminum cyminum)
  10. Safflower Oil (Carthamus tinctorius)
  11. Tamanu Oil (Calyphyllum inophyllum)
  12. Sesame Oil (Sesamum indicum)

I suggest if you are going to use any of these oils and you are allergic to any of the ingredients, it goes without saying, don’t use it! I suggest doing a skin patch test with any of them.

Leave a Reply

